Symposium: Race, Ethnicity, and (New) Media

(April 30-May 2, 2009)

Registration Information and Draft Program

[All works submitted to this website are considered works-in-progress, and are not to be cited or circulated without the express permission of their author(s)]
The Race & Ethnic Studies Institute at Texas A&M University convenes a symposium every other year, and the proposed theme for the 2008-2009 year is Shifting Terrains: Inequalities in the 21st Century, and the symposium itself is to focus on Race, Ethnicity, and (New) Media. The explosion of work on New Media (including the Internet, mobile devices, Web 2.0) and the juxtaposition and overlap between 'old' media (radio, television, film, and mass-print media) and New Media is a rich field of cultural production and scholarly research in which scholars of race and ethnicity have not been particularly well-represented. However, there are cutting edge scholars who do indeed explore various aspects of race/ethnicity and (New) Media (including audience/fan studies, representations of racial and ethnic identities in a variety of media, identity-focused online communities, etc.).
Come join us for our our 2 1/2 day interdisciplinary symposium!

Follow this link to view the draft program.

Symposium registration:

Please note only authors with accepted papers and those who will attend as audience members should register. The keynote addresses and panel sessions are free and open to the public. The registration fee covers lunch and symposium materials. The receptions are open, with a cash bar. The hotel with the group rate for Symposium registrants is the Holiday Inn Express in College Station, TX. The nightly group rate is $85.00, and the code REM should be used when making reservations.

Follow this link to go to the registration page.


Organizing Committee:
  • Rick Furuta (CPSC)
  • Patrick Burkhart (COMM)
  • Jennifer Davis (SOCI)
  • Giovanna Del Negro (ENGL)
  • Ashley Currier (SOCI/WMST)
  • Hiroshi Ono (SOCI)
  • Wesley Dean (SOCI)
  • Srivi Ramasubramanian (COMM)
  • Andruid Kerne (CPSC)
  • Janie Filoteo (SOCI)
  • Kathryn Henderson (SOCI)
  • Nicole Castor (ANTH/AFST)
Co-Sponsored by:
  • The Melbern G. Glasscock Center for Humanities Research
  • The Department of Sociology
  • The Department of Performance Studies
  • The Department of English